Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve spent almost half of my life in a bubble. Not a giant bubble like the bubble boy, but in a church bubble. I’ve grown up in the same church with the same pastor since I was a teenager. I’m significantly older now (let’s just say I’m getting closer to 50).

It was never a big deal until my hubby and I attended a Pastors Conference and the speaker asked a very poignant question. “Do you have any unsaved friends?” To which I responded, “I’m a very busy pastor’s wife, I don’t really have time to hang out with people who aren’t directly involved in the things I’m involved in. But I do see unsaved people when I go to the grocery store or the gas station.” And at the time, I was okay with that response. However, about five months ago something changed. There was a shift in what God was asking me to do. Am I still a busy pastor’s wife? Absolutely!! But if you were to ask me if I have unsaved friends, I would be able to say, “Yes.”

I didn’t realize what was going on at first. To be honest, I was a little nervous about the changes. But then a couple of months ago, my hubby and I were having dinner with a well know Pastor from New York, and he said something interesting. He said, “The best thing I ever did was start spending time with people who aren’t saved. In fact, one of the guys I talk to a lot is a guy from my church who is barely saved. It helps me to keep a healthy perspective on reaching people.” It hit me and Eddie at the same time. We both realized what God was up to.

For those of you who don’t know, my hubby is a 2-time world champion skateboarder. So aside from all of the work overseeing 2 church campuses we spend part of our week hanging out with our Skateboard Friends.

I am happy to say that God popped my bubble!!! So if you see me through out the week, you may see me engaged in conversation with people who are smoking, drinking and cussing. And there is never a time when I feel like I need to tell them that they are “going to hell” if they don’t change their life. Instead, I let my “light shine” and I allow my life to speak. I am Loving Them To Life. Genuinely caring about them and what is going on in their lives.

Do I ever talk about God? Absolutely!!! But I wait for God to open the doors by them asking me questions or bringing up the topic. And yes, it comes up. It is amazing to watch God minister through me to people who would otherwise be far from Him. God makes a way! God loves them! And so do I!!

So…I ask you…Do you have any friends that are unsaved? If not, perhaps God is getting ready to pop your bubble!